Board Meeting - June 11, 2019

Primary tabs

Friday, June 7, 2019 - 3:15pm
of the Metuchen Board of Education
Metuchen High School
400 Grove Avenue
Metuchen, NJ  08840
Tuesday, June 11, 2019

1.Call to Order


2.Flag Salute


3.Notice of Meeting

I hereby make this statement to indicate compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act known as Chapter 231 of the Public Laws of New Jersey, 1975, which became effective 90 days after enactment, January 19, 1976.
Notice of this meeting was given by providing the location, time and date of this meeting, and posting of the same on the front door of the Board of Education offices, by delivering copies to the Borough Hall and the Metuchen Public Library, The Home News and Tribune, The Criterion Sentinel, The Star Ledger, and by filing a copy with the Borough Clerk as prescribed by this law.

4.Roll Call

Mr. Benderly
Mr. Lifton
Ms. Cook
Mr. Manley
Mr. Derflinger
Mr. Small
Mr. Glassberg
Mr. Suss
Ms. Killean

5.Showcase of Success

  1. Spring Sports Champions
Edgar Middle School
Undefeated Girls Softball Team
Cece Appau
Anna Pierson
Mary Kate Cummings
Ella Polakowski
Brianna DeLa Fuente
Skylar Prehodka
Kylie Flaherty
Jaelynn Rodriguez
Abby Kozo
Jane Swykowski
Alexx Lipshutz
Julia Swykowski
Mary McGrath
Mia Szap
Kyle Morano
Catherine Xarhoulakos
Samantha Pfeiffer
Metuchen High School Boys Golf
NJSIAA Central Jersey Group I Champions
Josh Blom
Justin Derector
Kyle Blom
Nico Malamug
Matt DeCerbo
Jackson Schnarre
Individual South/Central Sectional Champion
Nico Malamug
Metuchen High School Boys Track
Blue Division Champions
Avi Appell
Thomas Kwok
Nick Bianchini
Eddie Malague
Matt Brown
Arvin Manivannan
Thomas Cordes
Phil Marcille
Jai Dreher
Mark Miller
Elijah Ervin
Giovanni Ortega
August Hines
Colyn Qualls
Colin Hueston
Raj Safi
Josh Hyman
Dean Serio
Emmett Koskoski
Aakash Sood
Freddie Krebs
Chris Wu
Metuchen High School Girls Track
Blue Division Champions
Merin Boucher
Lucie Lee
Alex Ciardiello
Joy Li
Samantha Ciardiello
Sara Lignell
Patricia Dela Cruz
Camille Lussier
Serena Deniz
Mary Malague
Domonique Dudley
Lilia Ould-Hammou
Kyan Edwards
Caroline Schleif
Emma Kacani
Stephorah Serieux
Elizabeth Lackland
Nina Suss
Paige Larson
Charlotte Warning
4x800 meter Relay Team - Sectional Champions
Camille Lussier
Caroline Schleif
Mary Malague
Nina Suss

6.Meeting Open to the Public

(for any topic)



  1. Student Advisory Board
Campbell Elementary School:            Sama Samim
                                                           Eashaan Bhattacharyya
Edgar Middle School:                         Keira Caccavano
Danny Galligan
                                                           Kyle Rutter                                                                                                                             Keira Dowd
Metuchen High School:                       Carly Pichalski
                                                           Jai Dreher
Nelson Shi
Kathleen Appau
Lily Lu
                                                           Ryan Stoecker


  1. President’s Report
  2. Superintendent’s Report
  3. Business Administrator/Board Secretary’s Report
  4. Committee Reports

9.New Business


10.Old Business


11.Approval of Minutes of the Board of Education Meetings

Move to approve the minutes of the following meetings:
May 14, 2019
Board Meeting
May 14, 2019
Special Meeting 1
May 14, 2019
Special Executive Meeting 2

12.Meeting Open to the Public

(for any topic discussed up to this point in the meeting and for comments on the recommendations of the Superintendent of Schools)

13.Recommendations of the Superintendent of Schools

(at this time the Board will take formal action on the following items – see attachments)
Often times it may appear to members of our audience that the Board of Education takes action with very little comment and in many cases a unanimous vote. Before a matter is placed on the agenda at a public meeting, the administration has thoroughly reviewed the matter with the Superintendent of Schools. If the Superintendent is satisfied that the matter is ready to be presented to the Board of Education, it is then referred to the appropriate board committee. The members of the board committee work with administration and the Superintendent to assure that the members fully understand the matter. When the committee is satisfied with the matter, it is presented to the Board of Education for discussion before any final action is taken. Only then, is it placed on the agenda for action at a public meeting.
  1. Personnel
  2. Finance
  3. Policy
  4. Curriculum

14.Meeting Open to Public (for anything you wish to discuss)




16.Motion to Go Into Executive Session (when applicable)

Resolution to Close Meeting
BE IT RESOLVED, pursuant to the Sunshine Act, N.J.S. 10:4-12 and 13, that the Board of Education will now meet in executive session to discuss _____________________________________ and that matters discussed will be disclosed to the public as soon as the reason for confidentiality no longer exist.
  1. Adjournment
Groups audience: